Subscribe in a reader

Thursday, February 17, 2005

Man Booker International Prize Press Conference

Webcast of the Inaugural Man Booker International Prize Press Conference will be posted shortly after the events conclude on The Man Booker International Prize winner will be announced in May 2005.
This webcast will air Friday, February 18, 2005

Eighteen authors have made it on to the Judges’ List of contenders for the first ever Man Booker International Prize. They come from thirteen countries and ten are writers in translation.
The Judges’ List was announced by the chair of judges, Professor John Carey, at a press conference at Georgetown University, Washington, DC today (Friday 18th February, 2005).
The eighteen authors on the list are:

Margaret Atwood
Saul Bellow
Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Gunter Grass
Ismail Kadare
Milan Kundera
Stanislaw Lem
Doris Lessing
Ian McEwan
Naguib Mahfouz
Tomas Eloy Martinez
Kenzaburo Oe
Cynthia Ozick
Philip Roth
Muriel Spark
Antonio Tabucchi
John Updike
A.B. Yehoshua

The judging panel for the 2005 Man Booker International Prize is: Professor John Carey (Chair); writer, novelist and editor, Alberto Manguel; and writer and academic, Azar Nafisi.


Post a Comment

<< Home